



Volume 16 Issue 2

Published by the Saskatchewan School Boards Association

December 2023

Ile-a-la Crosse School Board Receives Premier's Award

The IIe-a-la Crosse School Division Board of Education has received the 2023 Premier's Board of Education Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education for its "Historic Submission for the First Indigenous controlled Board of Education in Saskatchewan: IIe-a-la Crosse Northern School Administration Area No. 1 formed by Minister's order May 6, 1974".

The SSBA co-ordinates the Premier's Award each year. The award was presented on behalf of Premier Scott Moe during the SSBA's Annual General Assembly.

"The Government of Saskatchewan is pleased to recognize Ile-a-la Crosse School Division Board of Education as this year's award winner," Minister of Education Jeremy Cockrill said.

In its application for the award, Ile-a-la Crosse said of its submission: "Ile-a-la Crosse Northern School Administration Area No. 1 was formed by Minister's order May 6, 1974. By January 1, 1975, all assets of the school division were controlled by the new board. This was the first-time Indigenous people were making decisions about who would teach their child and administer the school, the



To view a video about the award recipients, please visit: <u>https://youtu.be/bSwl1dh3jyQ</u>

responsiveness of school, the school's awareness of colonization and oppression and most people were enthusiastic. Ile-a-la Crosse Temporary Education Committee and the subsequent elected Board of Education were the first Indigenous controlled boards of education in Saskatchewan."

Xerox Canada has sponsored this award since its development in 1999 and increased the prize amount to \$5,000 this year. The award recipient is recommended by a panel of education sector partners. Xerox is pleased to continue the long-standing partnership with the SSBA through the sponsorship.

"For more than 100 years, Xerox has continually redefined the workplace experience" said John Brightwell, Vice-President Channel Sales. "Today, Xerox is continuing its legacy of innovation to deliver clientcentric and digitally driven technology solutions to schools all over North America. It is a great honour to be once again associated with the prestigious Premier's Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education. Congratulations to the Ile-a-la Crosse School Board."

DID YOU KNOW?

Materials from past events, including any available videos and presentations, are archived and available on the SSBA's <u>website</u>.



2023 SSBA Fall General Assembly (held Nov. 12-14 in Regina)



Presentations of Life Membership to Janet Kotylak, Prairie Valley SD, and Honorary Life Membership to Kelly Berlinic.



Award of Distinction presentation to Lois Smandych, Good Spirit SD, and the 2023-24 SSBA Executive.



Banquet greetings from Education Minister Jeremy Cockrill and Regina Mayor Sandra Masters.

2023 SSBA Fall General Assembly (held Nov. 12-14 in Regina)



Premier's Award presentation including remarks by sponsor Xerox representative John Brightwell.





Keynote Speakers Dr. Ken Coates and Dr. Jim Farney.



Student Entertainment from Regina Public SD and President's Address by Jaimie Smith-Windsor.



"The mission of the SSBA is to provide leadership, coordination and services to member boards of education to support student achievement."

> President: Jaimie Smith-Windsor

Vice-President: Dr. Shawn Davidson

Catholic Constituency: Jerome Niezgoda

Central Constituency: Christine Gradin

Conseil scolaire fransaskois Constituency: Élizabeth Perreault

> Indigenous Constituency: Kimberly Greyeyes

Northern Constituency: Nathan Favel

Southern Constituency: Robert Bachmann

Urban Public Constituency: Donna Banks

> Executive Director: Darren McKee

Board Development and Indigenous Education: Ted Amendt, PhD

Communications and Strategic Services: Jill Welke

> Corporate Services: Catherine Vu

Employee Benefits and Insurance Plans: Jeff McNaughton

> Legal Services: Jolene Horejda

Saskatchewan School Boards Association 400-2222 13th Ave., Regina, Sask., S4P 3M7 Phone: 306-569-0750 Fax: 306-352-9633 Email: <u>admin@saskschoolboards.ca</u>

The School Trustee is published approximately five times per year (September to June).

If you would prefer to receive *The School Trustee* by hard copy, please contact the Association at the email address above.

2023 SSBA Scholarship Recipients

A special thank you to AON for sponsoring the Degree Program Scholarship and Manulife for sponsoring the Technical/Trade Program Scholarship.





AON

AbdurRahman Khawaja is the recipient of the 2023 Degree Program Scholarship, sponsored by AON. AbdurRahman graduated from the Regina Huda School, an associate school within the Regina Public School Division, and is enrolled in the Software Systems Engineering program at the University of Regina.

Manulife

Mackenzie Miller is the recipient of the 2023 Technical / Trade Program Scholarship, sponsored by Manulife. Mackenzie graduated from Oxbow Prairie Horizons School in the South East Cornerstone Public School Division, and is enrolled in the Animal Health Technology program at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology.

Education Inter-organizational Meeting





The meeting of the SSBA, STF, SASBO and LEADS Executives took place in November and the focus was Provincial Education Plan implementation.

The SSBA office is moving! Our new address effective January 2024 will be:

400-2631 28th Ave., Regina, Sask., S4S 6X3